Trend Alert | The Sock Bootie

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 3.16.06 PMSometimes a trend comes down the runway or appears on an Insta Girl’s gram and my first reaction is – ICK! It can take time for my eyes and inclinations to adjust to a new idea. However, I normally come around to crave said item after not too long a time. I’m afraid the same cannot be said for the sock bootie trend I saw strutting the cobblestones of Copenhagen Fashion Week streets.

I had been warned this trend was coming down the pipeline when Zara released its Pre-Fall 2017 City Lights campaign featuring model Alicia Burke clad in red sock booties. I didn’t like them then, and I don’t like them now. This is one trend that isn’t growing on me anytime soon. Even Balenciaga’s fab floral-on-black print bootie, while elevating the style factor a little, can’t coax me.

Am I the only one for whom this item is a fashion flop? What do you think of this fall trend – love it or loathe it?

Cate

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 3.14.57 PMScreen Shot 2017-08-10 at 3.15.11 PMScreen Shot 2017-08-11 at 5.02.52 PMvictorjones0686-xUJnNTPynqyf6sd9Q6-gng

Zara City Lights campaign featuring models in sock booties:

zara-2018-fallwinter-city-lights-womens-editorial-campaign

Leave a Reply

